Childproof Window TUTORIAL!

Due to all the interest I recieved regarding the Childproof Window Gate my wonderful husband Mr. Fixit was kind enough to explain how he created it. If you have any questions please ask them in comments section or you can email me at momadecreations@yahoo.com.

How to Build Your Own Child Safety Gate

Materials:

Two 2X4’s cut to your needed length. They should be taller than the piece of deck railing.

1 piece of deck railing

2 hinges

1 lock that meets your needs, in my case I used a sliding bolt lock.

Screws

Tools:

Screw gun

Circular saw

Tape measure

Pencil

The Build:

The build is pretty simple. I started by using the two by fours to build the window out. I placed one two by four on each side of the window and secured the boards with screws. I made sure that the piece of deck railing would fit in between the two by fours. This was important because otherwise my lock would not work. Next I attached the hinges to the deck railing and then attached the hinges to the two by four. If you look at the picture posted on the blog you can see how this was done. I put the gate together this way because it made the build quick and easy. If you feel more ambitious you can take this a whole lot further. Finally I attached my lock. In my case I had close the gate and then mark where each side of the lock needed to be attached.

Please, if you have any questions post them here on the blog. Mr. Fixit would be happy to answer them or even help you trouble shoot a difficult build.

2 thoughts on “Childproof Window TUTORIAL!

  1. I found my daughter standing at an open window in my second floor bedroom that I had blocked with 2 chairs that she moved so she could see out the window. One push on the screen, and she would have been a goner. Freaked out, I took to the internet to look for a solution and only found window guards that had horizontal bars that my 2 year old would most definitely climb. Not wanting to invest in something my child would see as an obstacle course, I sought advice from my Facebook friends, were my friend told me about her cousin that made these, and I must say, I am super impressed! The cheaper ones I had been looking to buy would have been difficult to remove in case there was a fire, and the more expensive ones were… well… expensive! I love the whole do-it-yourself-ness of this, but it leads me to my question – about how much did this cost to make?

    Like

    • We already had a lot of the supplies from a porch that my husband put on the back of the house. The hardware cost about 10$ and the porch railing and 2X4 can cost about 15$ depending on where you get it and if you get it on sale. Hope this helps.

      Like

Leave a Reply

